BBES Wall of Honor

Join our special education team!

For the 2023-24 school year, Albemarle County Public Schools will be offering sign-on bonuses for special education teachers at Title I elementary schools and secondary schools where 40% or more of students qualify for free or reduced lunch. External special education teacher hires and employees that are currently in positions that are not licensed or on the teacher scale (such as teaching assistants) are eligible for this $2,000 bonus. Internal transfers are not eligible.

The bonus will be paid in two installments: $1,000 at the end of the first semester, and $1,000 at the end of the second semester. Employees must be active at the time of payment to receive the bonus.

Schools where new hires will receive the bonus are:

  • Agnor-Hurt Elementary School
  • Greer Elementary School
  • Mountain View Elementary School
  • Red Hill Elementary School
  • Scottsville Elementary School
  • Woodbrook Elementary School
  • Burley Middle School
  • Journey Middle School

To learn more about the position and to apply, please visit our hiring website and search "Special Education."